Home > Services > Transportation > Committees

Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TTAC)

The Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TTAC) advises and provides technical guidance to the MAPA Board of Directors about a number of transportation manners.

TTAC consists of city and county engineers, planners, and public works representatives, as well as engineers from the State of Nebraska and the State of Iowa. TTAC meetings are open public meetings, which anyone can attend. The meetings are held at 10:00 am on the third Friday of the month (occasionally it is the fourth Friday, please check the meeting calendar to verify meeting dates) in the Downstairs Training Room at MAPA offices located at 2222 Cuming Street in Omaha.

Coordinated Transit Committee (CTC)

The Coordinated Transit Committee (CTC) is a stakeholder group and sub-committee to the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee. It is made up of various health and human service agencies, private and not-for-profit providers, city officials, Metro Transit, and concerned citizens. The CTC implements the Coordinated Transit Plan, administers FTA Section 5310 funding (transportation funding for serving the elderly and those with disabilities), and is developing a transportation one-call center.

The CTC meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month at 10:30 (unless there is a conflict).  The meetings are held in the Board Room at the MAPA offices located at 2222 Cuming Street in Omaha and are open to anyone who would like to attend.

Transportation Alternatives Program Committee (TAP-C)

Each year, the MAPA region receives approximately $1 million in Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) funding from the Nebraska Department of Transportation and the Iowa Department of Transportation. TAP funding can be used to fund a variety of projects including bicycle facilities, pedestrian improvements and Safe Routes to School activities. MAPA’s Transportation Alternatives Program Committee (TAP-C) meets regularly to discuss the process for making awards and reviewing project applications. TAP-C is an 18-member stakeholder committee of the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TTAC) and includes planners, engineers, advocates and other staff from local and state jurisdictions.

Eligible Activities

Project Selection Committee (ProSeCom)

The MAPA region receives an annual allocation of approximately $14 million of Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) funding from the Nebraska Department of Transportation and the Iowa Department of Transportation. This funding is awarded to local agencies to undertake a variety of multimodal and roadway projects throughout the region.

ProSeCom is a 12 member sub-committee to the Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TTAC) that includes planners, engineers, and other staff from local and state jurisdictions. ProSeCom was created in 2011 and meets periodically to discuss and develop project selection criteria for MAPA’s regional STBG funding, review project applications, and provide input for MAPA’s planning processes.

Citizens’ Advisory Council (CAC)

The Citizens’ Advisory Council (CAC) meets the second Thursday of every  month at 4:30 pm in the MAPA Lobby Conference Room, located at 2222 Cuming Street in Omaha. It is comprised of nominated and appointed members of the communities in the MAPA Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) area of Douglas, Sarpy and Western Pottawattamie Counties.

Currently, there are several available positions for smaller communities, all other positions will become open only during elections or if a member resigns. The CAC provides feedback to MAPA on planning documents and processes.

This meeting and discussion are open to all, though only appointed members of the CAC are able to vote on action items.

Regional Planning Affiliation 18 (RPA-18)

The Iowa Department of Transportation (Iowa DOT) has designated 18 Regional Planning Affiliations (RPAs) that provide regional transportation planning outside of the urbanized areas.  RPA-18 consists of Harrison, Mills, Shelby, and the non-urbanized portion of Pottawattamie County in Southwest Iowa. MAPA serves as the administrator for RPA-18 and provides professional and planning services for communities within the region.

The primary activities of RPA-18 include the development and maintenance of the RPA’s Long Range Transportation Plan, the Regional Transportation Improvement Program, and other Iowa DOT requirements. The RPA-18 Board has separate Policy and Technical Committees, comprised of representatives from each county (Harrison, Mills, Pottawattamie and Shelby), each city with a population greater than 5,000 (currently the cities of Harlan and Glenwood) and other key transportation stakeholders.