OMAHA-COUNCIL BLUFFS METROPOLITAN AREA PLANNING AGENCY COUNCIL OF OFFICIALS MEETING MINUTES

June 18, 2025

The June 18, 2025 Council of Officials Meeting was held at The Venues at the Granary 5555 Granary Plaza, Suite 101, Ralston, NE 68127. Registration and lunch began at 11:00 a.m.

A. <u>Welcome and Introductions</u>:

1. Call to Order and Introductions – President Festersen called the meeting to order at 11:33 a.m.

Members Present: Scott Belt Andy Biller David Black Patrick Boyle Paula Dennison Steve Dethlefs John Ewing Jr. Pete Festersen Mike Friend Don Groesser Rusty Hike Douglas Kindig Tom McCormick Dave Roth Angela Winquist	Council Bluffs Mayor, City of Director of Co City Administ Supervisor, W Mayor City of City Council F Commissione Mayor, City of Mayor, City of Chairman, Pa Omaha Airpo	Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisor Council Bluffs Airport Authority Mayor, City of Papillion Director of Community Engagement, Metropolitan Community College City Administrator, City of Gretna Supervisor, Washington County Mayor City of Omaha City Council President, City of Omaha Commissioner of Douglas County Mayor, City of Ralston Mayor, City of Bellevue Mayor, City of Bellevue Mayor, City of LaVista Chairman, Papio Missouri River Natural Resources District Omaha Airport Authority Mayor, City of Glenwood			
Other Guests: Meghan Engberg Dan Freshman Jerry McCall Steve McCoy Chris Meeks Jacquelyn Morrison Stephanie Muller Terri Pohl Eva Roberts Chris Solberg Kristine Stokes Mark Stursma Julie Thacker Reggie Wortman	Community Development Planner, City of Ralston Chief Building Official, City of Ralston Owner, Educational Consulting Services Chief Strategy & Technology Office, Omaha Airport Authority Government and Community Relations Strategist, OPPD Deputy Chief of Staff- Economic Development, City of Omaha Vice President, Customer Experience MUD Advocacy and Communication Manager, Front Porch Investments Director of Operations and Impact, Front Porch Investments Deputy Director of Community Development, City of LaVista Development Service Director, City of Grenta Deputy City Chief, City of Papillon Director, Business Development, MUD City Planner, City of Gretna				
<u>MAPA Staff</u> : Natasha Barrett Michael Helgerson	Christina Brownell Saul Lopez	Sue Cutsforth Carlos Morales	Rachel Goettsch Julie Smith	Laura Heilman Connie Viner	

B. Welcome City of Ralston -

Elizabeth Zeller

Mayor Don Groesser & Douglas County Commissioner Mike Friend welcomed members and guests to the City of Ralston and Douglas County for the June 18, 2025 Council of Officials Quarterly Meeting.

C. Director's Remarks - (Information)

Mr. Helgerson provided an update on MAPA projects, activities and events, including: Safe Streets and Roads

for All (SS4A) project & MOU status; NADO 10-State conference in Denver, CO; the Nebraska Transportation Conference where MAPA presented on Integrated Transportation Systems; and the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) Annual Conference held in Seattle, WA. where former Mills County Supervisor Carol Vinton completed her term as NARC President.

D. <u>Business</u> – (ACTION)

- 1. Meeting Minutes
 - a. Approval of the December 11, 2024 Meeting Minutes

Motion by Kindig, Second by Boyle to approve the December, 2024 meeting minutes. Motion carried.

b. Approval of the March 12, 2025, Meeting Minutes

Motion by Kindig, Second by Boyle to approve the March 12, 2025 meeting minutes. Motion carried.

- 2. FY 2026 Officer Elections
 - a. Council Of Officials President to serve from July 1, 2025 June 30, 2026
 - b. Council Of Officials Vice President to serve from July 1, 2025 June 30, 2026

Kindig nominated the following: Washington County (NE) Supervisor, Steve Dethlefs to serve as President of the Council of Officials, and Mayor Allen Hadfield, City of Treynor (IA), to serve as Vice President of the Council of Officials.

Motion by Kindig, Second by Hike to approve the Election of Council President Steve Dethlefs, Council Vice President Alan Hadfield. Motion carried.

- c. Iowa Small Communities/Counties Representative of Board
- d. Nebraska Small Communities/Counties Representative on Board

Hike nominated the following: Mayor Douglas Kindig, City of La Vista (NE) to serve as the Nebraska Small Communities Representative on the Board of Directors and Mayor Angie Winquist, City of Glenwood (IA) to serve as the Iowa Small Communities Representative on the Board of Directors.

Motion by Hike, Second by Dethlefs to approve the Election Mayor Douglas Kindig to serve as the Nebraska Small Communities Representative on the Board of Directors and Mayor Angie Winquist to serve as the Iowa Small Communities Representative on the Board of Directors.

- 3. FY 2026 Budget & Work Program
 - a. FY 2026 Budget
 - b. FY 2026 Final Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP)
 - c. FY 2026 Community Development Work Program (CDWP)

Mr. Helgerson presented the Strategic Framework and FY 2026 Budget Overview to include a review of the agency's strategic goals, revenues and expenses for the upcoming fiscal year. MAPA's CDWP focuses on: (1) Information Sharing and Knowledge Building; (2) Planning in Place; (3) Disaster Recovery and Resilience; and (4) Blight and Reinvestment Strategies. The focus of the FY 2026 UPWP is: (1) Regional Transportation Planning; (2) Leadership in Data Resources; and (3) Regional Collaboration and Convening Conversations.

Mr. Morales presented to the Council the 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), replacing what was previously referred to as the Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP). Key work for the current and

Council of Officials Meeting June 18, 2025

upcoming year will have a continued focus on safety and linking the MTP and Comprehensive Safety Action Plan (CSAP). Updates to the Travel Demand Model to a base year 2022 will assist with demographic data/projection and updated land use projections.

Motion by Belt, Second by Winquist to approve the FY 2026 Budget and Work Programs. Motion carried.

E. <u>The Granary Project</u> – Gordon Whitten, Chiefs Executive Officer, I See it Ventures

Mr. Gordon Whitten provided a brief update to the Council on projected growth of Downtown Ralston along with current and planned development projects.

F. <u>Featured Speaker</u> – Mr. David Roth – Chief Executive Officer, Omaha Airport Authority

Mr. Roth presented to the Council on the BUILD OMA Project, including a brief history of the Omaha Airport Authority and the work and development over the years while executing OAA's master plan. Mr. Roth provided an overview of the work of the BUILD OMA project including the Terminal Modernization Program (TMP) Planning & Design and recent progress towards the construction of the Central Pavilion and terminal expansion. Mr. Roth showed the history of the total number of passengers that travel through Eppley Airfield; presented the Council with visuals of the Upper & Lower Level Floorplan, and noted new dining and retail options that will be located in the Central Pavilion with a focus on local brands. The total budget for the TMP is approximately \$950m with work expected to be completed in 2028.

<u>Adjournment</u> – President Festersen adjourned the meeting at 12:48 p.m.