

Regional Planning Affiliation - Region 18 Policy Board and Technical Committee Meeting

Mar 12, 2025 11:00 AM Training Room • 17501 Eastern Hills Dr, Council Bluffs, IA 51503 • https://us02web.zoom.us/i/82747825477

MINUTES

In attendance:

Policy Board Voting Members

- Richard Crouch Mills County
- Susan Miller Pottawattamie County, Policy Board Vice-Chair
- Gervas Mgonja City of Harlan
- Charlie Parkhurst Shelby County,
 Policy Board Chair
- John Rasmussen Pottawattamie County

Technical Committee Voting Members

- Jamey Clark City of Glenwood
- Jacob Ferro Mills County, Technical Committee Chair
- Chris Fredericksen Shelby County

Non-Voting/MAPA Staff

- Lindsey Button MAPA
- Rachel Goettsch MAPA
- Latifa Moro MAPA
- Carlos Morales MAPA*
- Scott Suhr Iowa DOT*

Virtual attendance*

Charlie Parkhurst called the meeting to order at 11:01am.

The slides noted the meeting was held in accordance with Chapters 21 and 22 of the Iowa Code and was live-streamed on MAPA's YouTube page.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approval of the Agenda (Policy)

Charlie Parkhurst called for a motion to approve the agenda. No changes were made to the agenda.





Policy Board: Richard Crouch motioned to approve the agenda. Motion was seconded by Susan Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approval of the Minutes: February 12, 2025 Meeting (Policy).

Charlie Parkhurst called for a motion to approve the minutes. No changes were made to the minutes.

Policy Board: Susan Miller motioned to approve the minutes. Motion was seconded by Richard Crouch. Motion passed unanimously.

C. FY2026 RPA- 18 Draft Transportation Planning Work Framework (TPWP)

Carlos Morales provided an overview of the FY2026 Draft Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP), outlining key focus areas for the upcoming fiscal year. These include finalizing and adopting the Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP), continuing "Block Talks" coordination with local communities, supporting trail development initiatives, and administering the joint RPA-13/18 Safe Streets for All (SS4A) program. He also reviewed the budget framework, noting that funding allocations remain largely consistent with the previous year, with some adjustments due to changes in regional transportation planning priorities.

The timeline for TPWP adoption was also discussed, with a draft submission to lowa DOT by April 1, 2025, a public comment period in April, and final approval scheduled for June 1, 2025. Carlos emphasized the importance of public and stakeholder engagement in the planning process.

Technical Committee: Jacob Ferro motioned to:

 Recommend approval of the Draft Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP) and open the public comment period.

Motion was seconded by John Rasmussen. Motion passed unanimously.

Policy Board: Susan Miller motioned to:

Approve the Technical Committee recommendation.

Motion was seconded by Richard Crouch. Motion passed unanimously.





DISCUSSION ITEMS

D. Review/Update of Bylaws

Rachel Goettsch gave an update on the RPA-18 bylaws review process, covering membership population qualifications and small community representation. During the discussion, John Rasmussen asked about the origin of the 5,000-population threshold and whether other RPAs use the same standard. Scott Suhr confirmed that the threshold was based initially on urban boundaries and federal functional classifications when RPAs were formed. Rachel noted that its relevance has diminished due to population changes. A vote was conducted using a live polling system. The majority supported lowering the threshold to 2,500, adding Missouri Valley as a regular member.

Rachel also presented five options for small community representation, from maintaining the current structure with a rotating representative to assigning dedicated representatives for specific communities or counties. Some options proposed include Glenwood, Harlan, and Missouri Valley as permanent representatives, while others suggested broader representation through county-based or rotating seats. Members debated the benefits of broader representation versus potential quorum issues, but no formal action was taken. Rachel stated that MAPA staff will prepare visual scenarios illustrating the impact of each option, with further discussion planned for the next meeting.

E. RPA-18 FY26 Officer Nomination

Rachel Goettsch introduced the nomination process for the RPA-18 FY26 officers, stating that elections are scheduled for the May 21, 2025 meeting. She noted that discussions are ongoing regarding potential changes to election cycles in the bylaws, with a proposal to extend officer terms beyond one year for better continuity. A vote was taken on whether to maintain annual officer elections or switch to a two-year term. The majority favored a two-year term, and this change will be incorporated into the next bylaw draft for review. Since this change will not take effect until after the upcoming elections, however, members were encouraged to submit nominations for leadership positions and prepare for elections to take place at the next meeting.





F. Destination Iowa Fund Grant Program

Rachel Goettsch presented an overview of the Destination Iowa Fund (DIF) Grant Program, the state-funded portion of which provides funding through the Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA) for projects that promote tourism and economic development. She explained that eligible applicants include cities, counties, and nonprofit organizations and that vertical infrastructure projects such as trail development, land acquisition, and major renovations are prioritized. She highlighted key requirements, including 75% total local match, 65% of which must be secured before submitting a pre-application. The pre-application deadline is May 15, 2025, with final applications due July 15, 2025.

G. Public Comment

The floor was opened to give members of the public the opportunity to comment. No remarks were made.

H. Additional Business

a. MAPA Updates

Rachel Goettsch provided general updates on ongoing MAPA projects and upcoming deadlines. She mentioned that the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) consultant procurement process has been completed, and work will soon begin on project development. Additionally, members were reminded about upcoming funding opportunities and encouraged to contact MAPA staff for support in navigating applications.

I. Adjournment

Charlie Parkhurst called for a motion for the meeting to adjourn.

John Rasmussen motioned to adjourn the meeting at 11:44am. Motion was seconded by Richard Crouch.

FUTURE MEETINGS & EVENTS

- RPA-18 Policy Board and Technical Committee Meeting: April 9, 2025 If Needed
- RPA-18 Policy Board and Technical Committee Meeting: May 21, 2025



