OMAHA-COUNCIL BLUFFS METROPOLITAN AREA PLANNING AGENCY

COUNCIL OF OFFICIALS REGULAR MEETING June 14, 2023

The June 14, 2023 Council of Officials Meeting was held at Northern Lights Venue 310 N. 14th Street, Fort Calhoun, NE 68023

MINUTES

- A. <u>Welcome</u>: Mayor Mitch Robinson, City of Fort Calhoun & County Supervisor Steve Dethlefs welcomed all council members and guests.
- B. <u>Call to Order and Introductions</u> President Festersen called the meeting to order at 11:44 a.m.

<u>Members Present</u> : David Black Fred Conley Steve Dethlefs Pete Festersen (President) Allen Haldfield Douglas Kindig Mitch Robinson Matthew Walsh	Mayor, City of Papillion Board Member, Papio-Missouri River NRD County Supervisor, Washington CO City Council President, City of Omaha Mayor, City of Treynor Mayor, City of La Vista Mayor, City of Fort Calhoun Mayor, City of Council Bluffs
Other Guests: Brook Aken Kevin Anderson Cory Erspamer Brandon Garrett Marlene Knight Alicia Koziol Dustin Marvel Derek Miller Stephaine Mueller Jeff Ray Don Rowe Caleb Snyder Mark Stursma Deb Sutherland Julie Thacker Andy Wicks Eric Williams	Economic Development, OPPD Strategic Consultant, JEO Business Development Specialist, MUD Chief Staff, City of Council Bluffs Client Relationship Manager, Lamp Rynearson City Clerk, Fort Calhoun Government & Community Relations, OPPD Long Range Planner Manager, OPPD VP Customer Experience, MUD Senior Planner, JEO Omaha City Council Member, City of Omaha Senior Project Manager, Lamp Rynearson Deputy City Administrator, City of Papillion Administrator, City of Fort Calhoun Director, Business Development, MUD Associated Engineer, Olsson Natural Resources Planner, Papio-Missouri River NRD

MAPA Staff:

Grant Anderson	Natasha Barrett	Christina Brownell	Sue Cutsforth	Matt Eash
Isabelle Fleming	Charlie Harrington	Laura Heilman	Michael Helgerson	Saul Lopez
Carlos Morales	Connie Viner	Elizabeth Zeller		

- C. Approval of Meeting Minutes (ACTION)
 - 1. March 8, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Motion by Conley, Second by Walsh to approve March 8, 2023 meeting minutes.

D. Executive Director's Report - (Information)

Mr. Helgerson provided an update to the Council on MAPA's current and upcoming activities and projects including the Strategic Planning Overview, NIROC Aerial Photography, Valley Town Hall Meeting, Community Workshop & Events such as Regional Brownfields Workshop & Grant Writing Workshop, 5-2-1-0 Workshop-Council Bluffs & Urban & Community Forestry Webinars. 2023 ICOG Prometheus Award Winner Rafeal Corrales Orozco.

<u>New Business –</u> (Information)

- 1. FY 2024 Budget & Work Program (Action).
 - a. FY 2024 Budget
 - b. FY 224 Final Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP)
 - c. FY 2024 Community Development Work Program (CDWP)

Mr. Helgerson provided an overview to the Council of the FY 2024 work program priorities in the areas of Community & Economic Development, Regional Transportation Planning, Data Resources, and Regional Collaboration and Convening.

Motion by Kindig, Second by Conley to approve FY2024 Budget & Work Program.

- 2. <u>Elections</u> (Action)
 - a. Council of Officials President
 - b. Council of Officials Vice President

Mr. Helgerson nominated Council President Pete Festerson and Vice President Carol Vinton to Serve on the MAPA Council in FY 2024. Motion by Kindig, Second by Black to approve the Council President and Vice President.

- c. Iowa Small Communities/Counties Representative of the Board
- d. Nebraska Small Communities/Counties Representative of the Board

Mr. Helgerson nominated Iowa Small Communities/Counties Representative Carol Vinton to Serve on the MAPA Board in FY 2024 & Nebraska Small Communities/Counties Representative Doug Kingid to serve on the MAPA Broad in FY24. Motion by Robinson, Second by Conley to approve the Iowa & Nebraska Small Communities/Counties tp Server on the FY 2024 Board.

- E. <u>Presentations</u> (Information)
 - 1. Powering the Future in Washington County & Beyond- OPPD Growth Plans Presented by Brook Aken Director of Economic Development and External Relations at the Omaha Public Power District (OPPD)
- F. <u>Adjournment</u> President Festersen adjourned the meeting at 12:34 p.m.