OMAHA-COUNCIL BLUFFS METROPOLITAN AREA PLANNING AGENCY

COUNCIL OF OFFICIALS REGULAR MEETING March 8, 2023

The March 8, 2023 Council of Officials Meeting was held at Papillion Landing Community Recreation Center 1046 West Lincoln Street Papillion, NE 68046

MINUTES

- A. Welcome: Mayor David Black, City of Papillion welcomed all council members and quests.
- B. <u>Call to Order and Introductions</u> President Festersen called the meeting to order at 11:32 a.m.

Members Present:

David Black Mayor, City of Papillion

Pete Festersen (President) City Council President, City of Omaha

Allen Haldfield Mayor, City of Treynor
Rusty Hike Mayor, City of Bellevue
Don Kelly Sarpy County Commissioner
Douglas Kindig Mayor, City of La Vista
Ron Kohn Mayor, City of Glenwood

Linda McDermitt Board of Governors, Metropolitan Community College

Jacquelyn Morrison Deputy Chief of Staff Economic Development, City of Omaha

Rod Peterson Mayor, City of Louisville
Bill Proctor Council President, Gretna
Carol Vinton Supervisor, Mills County
Matthew Walsh Mayor, City of Council Bluffs

Other Guests:

Kevin Anderson Strategic Consultant, JEO

Dee Arias City Clerk/Treasurer, City of Louisville
Ron Barlett Sewer Use Fee Admi., City of Omaha PW

Patrick Boyle Director of Student Recruitment, Metropolitan Community College

Cory Erspamer Business Development Specialist, MUD
Amber Farnan City Administrator, City of Glenwood
Brandon Garrett Chief Staff, City of Council Bluffs

Karen Gibler President CEO, Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce

Kathy Glover Communications Manager, Sarpy County

Barry Haire Membership Manager, Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce Lisa Haire Executive. Assistant/Project Coordinator, Sarpy County

Dan Hoins County Administrator, Sarpy County Michael Holton City Administrator, City of Treynor

Matthew Kruze Roadway & Practice Group Leader, Lamp Rynearson

Breann Lundbald Membership Manager, Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce

Connor Menard Housing Development, Excel Development Group

Lee Myers President, PMP Omaha

Virgil Oligmueller Vice President, Lamp Rynearson

Emily Ramm Communication Specialist, Sarpy County

Tara Simons Membership Manager, Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce

Kim Thomas City Council President, City of LaVista

Ashley Rae Turner Community Outreach & Engagement Strategist, Emspace + Lovegren

MAPA Staff:

Grant Anderson Natasha Barrett Christina Brownell Sue Cutsforth Laura Heilman

Mike Helgerson Saul Lopez Elizabeth Zeller

C. Approval of Meeting Minutes - (ACTION)

1. October 5, 2022 Meeting Minutes

Motion by Vinton, Second by Kindig to approve October 5, 2022 meeting minutes.

D. <u>Executive Director's Report</u> - (Information)

Mr. Helgerson provided an update to the Council on MAPA's current and upcoming activities and projects including the NIROC Aerial Photography, Brownfields Workshop, Safe Street & Roads for All, Ribbon cutting for Vireo Facility, Highway 75 Corridor & Freight Study, Western Sarpy County Planning & Environmental Linkages (PEL), Welcome of New MAPA Staff Saul Lopez & Bradley Grefe & MAPA Annual Member Survey.

E. <u>New Business -</u> (Information)

- 1. FY 2023 Member Survey
- 2. FY 2024 Draft Work Program Priorities

F. <u>Presentations</u> - (Information)

- Growing Sarpy County Dan Hoins provide critical infrastructure that utilizes the greatest efficiency, economic advantage and environmental protection to Sarpy County, its cities and the State of Nebraska. The Platteview Road Expressway & the Sapry County Wastewater expansion.
- G. Adjournment Motion to adjourn by Black. President Festersen adjourned the meeting at 12:36 p.m.