

Regional Planning Affiliation - Region 18

2222 Cuming St., Omaha, NE 68102 402 / 444-6866 FAX: 402 / 342-0949 Long Distance in the MAPA Region: 1-800-827-6866

HARRISON

MILLS POTTAWATTAMIE

MEETING NOTICE

July 1, 2020

TO: RPA-18 Policy and Technical Committees

FROM: Charles Parkhurst, RPA-18 Policy Committee Chair John Rasmussen, RPA-18 Technical Committee Chair

Michael Helgerson, Transportation & Data Manager / RPA-18 Administrator

RE: July 8 RPA-18 Policy and Technical Committee Meeting

The RPA-18 Policy and Technical Committees will meet on Wednesday, July 8, 2020 at 11:00am at the MAPA Offices, 2222 Cuming Street, Omaha, Nebraska. The meeting will be streamed virtually due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic. For video streaming capabilities, please visit MAPA's Facebook page at www.facebook.com/MAPA2222.

As a quorum is needed to approve the agenda items, please contact me if you cannot attend.

AGENDA

- 1) Approval of Agenda
- Approval of Minutes: June 10, 2020 meeting. (Action)
- Final FY2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP): Staff will present the Final FY2021 through FY2024 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (RTIP). (Action Item)
- **Additional Business**
- Next Meeting (Information): The next scheduled meeting of the RPA-18 Policy and Technical Committees is on August 12, 2020 at 11:00 am.
- Adjournment

RPA-18 Policy/Technical Committee

Minutes of July 8, 2020 Meeting

11:00 a.m.

The RPA-18 Policy and Transportation Technical Committees met on July 8, 2020 virtually due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic. The meeting was held in compliance with the Iowa Open Meetings Act. Charles Parkhurst called the meeting to order at 11:00am.

PRESENT

Policy Committee

Charles Parkhurst Shelby County Supervisor

Ron Kohn Glenwood Mayor

Richard Crouch
John Rasmussen
Steven Struble

Mills County Supervisor
Pottawattamie County
Harrison County

Technical Committee

Brandon Burmeister Shelby County Engineer

John Rasmussen
Steven Struble
Gene Gettys

Pottawattamie County Engineer
Harrison County Engineer
Harlan City Manager

Staff/Non-Voting Members

Michael Helgerson Metropolitan Area Planning Agency
Travis Halm Metropolitan Area Planning Agency
Scott Suhr Iowa Department of Transportation

Michelle Wodtke-Franks Golden Hills Resource Conservation and Dev.

1. Approval of Agenda

MOTION by Crouch

SECOND by Gettys

MOTION PASSES

2. Approval of Minutes

Parkhurst called for approval of the minutes from June 10, 2020.

MOTION by Struble

SECOND by Burmeister

MOTION PASSES

3. FY 2021 RPA Final TIP

Travis Halm presented the Final TIP to members of the RPA Policy and Technical Committee.

Michael Helgerson, MAPA, stated that due to feedback from Iowa DOT, some criteria changes were required to ensure fairness in the application process. Helgerson added that Iowa DOT

requires one fair application process where all eligible entities can submit applications for funding, contrary to the previous selection process. Iowa DOT stated that our current selection process was not in compliance and could be at risk for future funding awards in the future.

Steven Struble asked what the notification process would be for notificating municipalities of application opportunities.

Helgerson added that this process is currently done, but that some steps in the process are being moved around to be in compliance. No funding changes were made in the FY21 TIP, but the language would need to be finalized prior to the next selection process.

Travis Halm added that since the Draft TIP, funding totals were adjusted to match TPMS and STBG and TAP funding tables, which were inconsistent in the Draft TIP. Two TAP projects were programmed for FY20 that had been moved back to FY21.

Halm added that project updates were completed.

Helgerson added that the next application process would begin in October with applications due in December, which could include funding recommendations finalized as early as January.

MOTION to approve the RPA-18 FY 2021 Final TIP by Parkhurst

SECOND by Struble

MOTION PASSES

4. Additional Business

Scott Suhr, Iowa DOT, provided an Missouri Valley Bypass, however, their application for an INFRA funding grant was declined. Iowa DOT is currently working with the railroad and Army Corps of Engineers on railroad switches and other right-of-way and alignment issues.

5. Next Meeting: (Information)

The next meeting of the RPA is scheduled for August 12, 2020, 11:00am. Halm added that this meeting would likely be cancelled due to a lack of agenda items. Details are still pending.

6. Adjournment:

Meeting was adjourned at 11:24 am.