### Date: Wednesday, March 2, 2016 10:30 a.m.

#### Location: MAPA Offices, Omaha, NE – Downstairs Training Room

### In Attendance:

### **Voting Members:**

Chair: Lisa Picker, Heartland Family Services Vice Chair: Ann Grober, City of Council Bluffs Ann Marie Kudlacz, SSCA Dan Freshman, City of Ralston Darlene McMartin, Pott County VA Erin Porterfield, HWS Fred Conley, Papio-Missour River NRD Karen Jackson, City of Bellevue Kelly Shaden, Metro Lillian Rush, Friendship Program, Inc. Lois Jordan, Florence Home Lori Hansen, City of Papillion Mark Lander, SWITA Mark Peterson, ENCAP Randy Stonys, ENHSA Rich Surber, Lutheran Family Services Vicki Quaites-Ferris, Empowerment Network

## Non-Voting:

Cindy Petrich, New Cassel Clint Sargent, Crossroads of Western Iowa Jill Dewey, Region V Services Rachelle Tucker, Omaha Housing Authority Scot Adams, Notre Dame Housing Stephanie Little, Crossroads of Western Iowa Tabitha Kube, Omaha Housing Authority Wendy Sliva, Region V Services

#### **MAPA Staff**

Court Barber Megan Walker Michael Felschow

## For CTC Approval

## 1. Introductions and Roll Call

Ms. Lisa Picker called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. She welcomed the committee and introductions were made. Ms. Picker explained that the appeals process would include a roll call vote and stated who the voting members are.

# 2. Voting on Funding Allocation

Ms. Walker reviewed what was voted on at the previous meeting. The CTC voted to go with proportional distribution against staff recommendation of one vehicle un-proportional distribution. This resulted in a number of agencies receiving less than a portion of a vehicle and many contacted MAPA with their concerns about this. As a result of the concern, this is being brought to the committee again for a re-vote.

# **Discussion Items**

# 3. Appeals Process

Mr. Rich Carstenson, City of La Vista, explained why he felt the committee should re-vote. Ms. Ann Marie Kudlacz commented that with the option that the committee selected, some agencies received less funding and to be able to get a vehicle they would have to come up with additional funding in addition to the match which can be very difficult. The question was asked at how the original vote resulted in some agencies getting less than what they needed for a vehicle. The committee voted on the option to distribute funds based on rankings and in some cases this left less funding for other agencies. Mr. Michael Felschow explained how that decision affected the funding allocation for the agencies. Mr. Felschow also explained that the 80/20 local match is the minimum local match required for federal grants. MAPA staff further explained how the un-proportional distribution would allocate funding to the agencies. The staff decided that in future meetings votes will be taken as a roll call vote to ensure that each voting member understands what they are voting for and this process will allow questions and discussion. Mr. Court Barber reviewed with the committee how the funding allocation would be affected (increases and decreases in funding) for each agency if the committee chooses un-proportional distribution [please see attached Item A for details].

After discussion, it was clarified to the committee that if they would like to keep the original vote of proportional distribution, signal by a vote of Aye or put it to a re-vote, signal by a vote of Nay.

MOTION by Ann Grober, SECOND by Ann Marie Kudlacz to keep the original vote of the committee on funding allocation as proportional distribution.

YAYS: McCurdy, McMartin, Jackson, Jordan, Quaites-Ferris NAYS: Freshman, Grober, Hansen, Kudlacz, Picker, Shadden, Stonys, Surber ABSTAIN: Conley, Peterson, Porterfield, Rush

MOTION FAILED.

Ms. Megan Walker explained that with a vote of 5 Yays and 8 Nays that the committee has chosen to reject the original decision of proportional funding.

MOTION by Rich Surber, SECOND by Ann Grober to accept the staff recommendation of modified-proportional funding.

Chairman Picker asked if there were any questions or discussion. Mr. Mark Peterson stated that the committee would like to know more about the scope of the projects. Chairman Picker stated that the committee did vote on and approve the scoring rubric and agreed as a committee that MAPA would be allowed to score and rank the projects. The question was brought up on whether or not this vote could be tabled. It was discussed on whether or not the committee should table the conversation or the vote. Mr. Surber stated that he would like to proceed and vote on the motion. Chairman Picker proceeded with the roll call vote.

YAYS: Conley, Freshman, Grober, Hansen, Jackson, Jordan, Kudlacz, McMartin, Peterson, Picker, Shadden, Stonys, Surber NAYS: Lander, Quaites-Ferris ABSTAIN: Porterfield, Rush MOTION PASSED.

Ms. Ann Grober, requested that the committee revisit the scoring rubric for the next year.

MOTION by Ann Grober, SECOND by Vicki Quaites-Ferris to revisit the scoring rubric in a separate committee meeting in September.

Mr. Rich Surber asked about the points distribution on the scoring rubric. Chairman Picker stated that the committee would not be creating a new rubric, only reviewing the current rubric and how points are assessed. Chairman Picker also reminded the committee that Ms. Walker stated that in 2023 that MAPA will only have access to one year of funding to distribute to the agencies. Mr. Fred Conley commented that the meeting will only be to review the rubric and that this does not mean there will have to be changes made to it.

YAYS: Conley, Freshman, Grober, Hansen, Jackson, Jordan, Lander, McMartin, Peterson, Picker, Porterfield, Shadden, Stonys, Surber, Quaites-Ferris NAYS: Kudlacz ABSTAIN: Rush MOTION PASSED.

# 4. Next Meeting

Chairman Picker stated that the next meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 16, 2016 at 10:30 a.m. in the MAPA Training Room.

# 5. Adjourn

Ms. Picker adjourned the meeting at 11:00 a.m.